Three members elected to council roles

Moira Jenkins was elected as mayor of the City of Vcitor Harbor.
Moira Jenkins was elected as mayor of the City of Victor Harbor.

Members of the Women in Business Regional Network have secured three council seats on the Southern Fleurieu Peninsula.

There were five financial members contesting the local government elections in the City of Victor Harbor and Alexandrina.

In Victor Harbor local psychologist and sitting councillor Moira Jenkins together with network founder Carolyn Jeffrey were among the mayoral candidates with Moira ultimately winning the contest after all preferences were counted.  The two women were among five candidates for the mayor’s position in Victor Harbor.

Fellow Victor Harbor member, local trainer and management consultant Chris McRae was among the 16 candidates for the nine councillor positions, but was unsuccessful.

In Alexandrina Council two financial members Karyn Bradford and Bronwyn Lewis were successful in winning ward councillor positions in the Angas-Bremer and Port Elliot-Middleton wards respectively.  Neither has previously served on the council.

Karyn, an artist from Milang, has a long history of volunteering in the local community and served as the executive officer/centre manager for the Milang and District Community Association.  She has also served as a board member of Community Centres SA, vice chairman Coorong Lower Lakes Murray Mouth Community Advisory Panel and Alexandrina Council Environment Advisory Panel. Her artisan craft business is Kayinga Design.

Bronwyn Lewis has an arts and marketing background and has been a volunteer with CWA and Resthaven. She has previously held positions as CEO of arts and health organisations as well as being a board member of a number of organisations.  Her business is Artymark Creative Marketing.

Introducing Alexandrina Council Elected Members: John Carter (Goolwa Hindmarsh Island ward Councillor), Michael Scott (Middleton Port Elliot ward Councillor), Bronwyn Lewis (Middleton Port Elliot ward Councillor), Rex Keily (Strathalbyn ward Councillor), Melissa Rebbeck (Goolwa Hindmarsh Island ward Councillor), Margaret Gardner (Goolwa Hindmarsh Island ward Councillor), Mayor Keith Parkes, James Stewart (Goolwa Hindmarsh Island ward Councillor), Karyn Bradford (Angas Bremer ward Councillor), Michael Farrier (Angas Bremer ward Councillor), Bill Coomans (Nangkita Kuitpo ward Councillor), and Craig Maidment (Strathalbyn ward Councillor).